Monday, August 30, 2010

Review - GONE

Gone (Gone, #1) - Michael Grant
Genre: YA Sci-Fi/Speculative/Dystopian (somewhat)
# of pages: 558 (pb)
Publisher: Harper Collins
Recommended to: 14+
Gone @ Parental Book Reviews


What an awesome premise to a really cool series! Seriously, what would life be like in a society run entirely by youths?
Grant reminds me a lot of Rowling and Riordan in that he successfully handles a large ensemble cast of characters. Not every series has as many crucial characters to the plot as this series. In fact, it's sometimes easier to play it safe with a small bunch of important characters, lest an author creates too many and then has a chaotic time of keeping track of them all. It surprised me how fleshed out and well-rounded everybody was.
That's another point - Grant is a master at creating awesome "villains." Not only were they interesting, they were incredibly dynamic, and truth be told, I enjoyed their scenes! Like, "Woo-hoo, here come the villains!"
So many well-done storytelling areas, too: just the right blend of action, romance, emotional depth, and crucial dialogue parts.
I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed this book. When all the adults just "poof out," what kind of society is left? How can a bunch of kids (who are 14 at the oldest) able to survive? What I thought was cool about Michael Grant's book is the optimistic belief in the maturity of some teens and their strength to "make it." I can't wait to start the second book in the series!

Quick Say: Fans of The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and/or YA devotees in general will not want to miss this fast-paced, thrilling debut to the Gone series. Despite a little implausibility and a bit of story redundancy, Gone was definitely a "hit" with me!

Final Grade:

5 shout-outs!:

Melissa said...

Eeep! I'm so glad you loved it! I was hoping you'd like it as much as I did. I was pleasantly surprised that it was great because I often find the hype over-reaches the greatness of the novel, itself. Brilliant review, Amelia :)

Jillian said...

Great review as always :) I haven't read this one yet, but will put this on hold at the library today :)

Shari said...

Glad to see that this book got a good grade I've been wanting to read it for a while. I've been enjoying your blog for quite some time now and wanted to let you know I've blog awarded you. You can check it out here http://myneuroticbookaffair.blogspot.com/2010/08/my-lovely-blog-award.html
Have a great week, Shari

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Oooooooooooo I need this. I've seriously been thinking of picking it up :)

Lisa R/alterlisa said...

I actually read this as a free read on HarperCollinsTeen.com when the second book was coming out. I loved it so much I ordered both it and book two as I knew I'd want to reread them when "Lies" came out. Generally, I pass on my YA books to a friend to use in her library at school but these I've held on to. Guess I'll just have to buy her another set.

 
Blog designed by Dreamy Blog Designs using Joifa Designs Birght Night and Cozy kit